P.O. Box 1716, Page, AZ 86040 • Ph: (928) 645-8888 • Fax: (928) 645-2209
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Opinion Obituaries Community Police Photos Home 

Mayor seeks reelection; councilors poised to do likewise

Posted: Wednesday, Nov 28th, 2012

Mayor Bill Diak has filed paperwork to begin his bid for reelection, while two of three city councilors have picked up the candidate’s packets but not yet submitted documentation to officially launch their campaigns.

The primary election is scheduled for March 12, 2013; the general election is May 21, 2013.

Candidates for mayor and the three council seats up for grabs have until Dec. 12 to file election paperwork.

According to the city clerk, incumbent councilors John Mayes and Lyle Dimbatt have picked up their packets, which contain a letter listing the general information needed to become a candidate, a political committee $500 threshold exemption statement, a statement of organization, a nonpartisan nomination paper/affidavit of qualification/campaign finance laws statement, a nonpartisan nomination petition, a local public officers financial disclosure statement, and a campaign finance reports handbook of instructions.

Vida Makowski, the third councilor whose term is ending in June 2013, has yet to pick up a candidate’s packet, according to the clerk.

Diak is the only person who has indicated a desire to run for mayor since the process began Nov. 12.

The mayor serves a two-year term; councilors four years.

In addition to Mayes and Dimbatt, others who have obtained packets for a potential council run are Larry Clark, Liam Doyle, Levi Tappan, Robby Carpenter, Bradley W. Sink, R.B. Ward and Tom Van Meenan.

Given the belt-tightening at city hall, the biggest issue of the campaign is likely to be the budget. Clark, who was dismissed as fire chief in a budget-balancing purge of high-ranking city officials, has been an outspoken critic of council and has filed notice of his intent to sue the city over his termination.

Dimbatt, a former mayor, is seeking election after being appointed to his council seat in January after Councilor Tom Puckett resigned in December 2011.

Diak, who had served on council, was elected in 2011 to succeed Dimbatt as mayor.

Citizens have until Feb. 11, 2013, to register to vote in the primary; April 22, 2013, for the general election.

For the complete article see the 11-28-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 11-28-2012 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:




Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal